Hertfordshire
Edwinstree Church of England Middle School
Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.
What the data says
Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.
No GCSE outcome data is available in the years we hold. Check the official DfE performance tables for the most recent results.
No Progress 8 data is available for this school in the years we hold.
Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.
This school has a Church of England religious character. Admissions may prioritise pupils who meet faith criteria. A Supplementary Information Form (SIF) may be required.
Watch-outs
- Faith admissions criteria apply (Church of England). A Supplementary Information Form may be required. Evidence of faith practice may be needed.
- Key performance data is not available for this school in our dataset. Check the official DfE performance tables.
What to do next
- Verify the school's official admissions policy
- Download and review the Supplementary Information Form
- Book an open day or school visit
- Add this school to your shortlist and compare with backup options
Admissions and catchment
Middle entry · Hertfordshire council allocation figures, 2023–2026
Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.
The furthest child offered a place in 2026 under the “Nearest School” rule lived 2.6 km from the school. Add your postcode to see where you would sit.
Why we say “Add your postcode”
- In 2026 the furthest child offered a place under the “Nearest School” rule lived 2.6 km from the school. Hertfordshire printed 2,571.18 m (allocation day).
- 182 applications for 120 places in 2026 (1.5 per place).
What could change this
- This cut-off only applied to children for whom this is the nearest school.
- We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
- Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
- Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
- Past allocations never guarantee a place.
Rings are to scale in straight-line km. Your marker’s direction is arbitrary; only its distance from the school matters.
Last offer distance
Furthest child offered a place.
Applications and places
Published admission number (PAN) against applications
182 applications for 120 places in 2026
120 offers made at allocation day, 2026
Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).
Pupils on roll
School census count against building capacity
101% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.
In-year places (September 2026 to July 2027): Reception: not stated · Year 1: not stated · Year 2: not stated · Year 3: not stated · Year 4: not stated · Year 5: no places · Year 6: no places · Year 7: no places · Year 8: no places · Year 9: not stated · Year 10: not stated · Year 11: not stated. As listed by the council on 27 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.
Sources — check them yourself
- 2026 (allocation day): Hertfordshire council allocation figures (PDF, page 12)
- 2025 (allocation day): Hertfordshire council allocation figures (PDF, page 12)
- 2024 (allocation day): Hertfordshire council allocation figures (PDF, page 13)
- 2023 (allocation day): Hertfordshire council allocation figures (PDF, page 13)
- Official admissions page: Hertfordshire. Use its address checker or booklet to confirm your own position.
Every distance the council printed
| Year | Rule or band | Printed | In km |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | Nearest School | 4,968.27 m | 5.0 km |
| 2023 | Not Nearest School | 3,928.35 m | 3.9 km |
Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.
Nearby and similar schools
Other secondary schools in Hertfordshire for local comparison.
School information
| URN | 117554 |
| Local authority | Hertfordshire |
| Region | East of England |
| Phase | Middle deemed secondary |
| Type | Voluntary controlled school |
| Gender of entry | Mixed |
| Age range | 9-13 |
| Headteacher | Headteacher J Gant |
| Trust | — |
| Admissions | Not applicable |
| Religious character | Church of England |
| Postcode | SG9 9AW |
| Latest pupils | 485 |
| FSM eligible | 15.5% |
Contact and identifiers
Norfolk Road, Buntingford, Hertfordshire, SG9 9AW
http://www.edwinstree.herts.sch.uk/1763271446| DfE number | 4506 |
| UKPRN | 10018799 |
| Opened | — |
| GIAS updated | 5 Mar 2026 |
Data sources and freshness
| Official record updated | 5 Mar 2026 |
| Latest KS4 year | — |
| Latest KS2 year | 2024/2025 |
| Ofsted published | — |
Latest Ofsted inspection
| Quality of education | — |
| Behaviour and attitudes | — |
| Personal development | — |
| Leadership and management | — |
| Safeguarding | — |
| Inspection type | — |
| Category of concern | — |
| Inspection date | — |
| Publication date | — |