Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hertfordshire

Elstree Screen Arts Academy

Hertfordshire·Secondary·East of England·University technical college·WD6 5NN
URN: 139416Not judgedOfsted published 4 Mar 2025
39.1
Attainment 8
National avg ≈ 46.4 · 2024/2025
-0.79
Progress 8
2023/2024 · CI: [-1.07, -0.51]
56.4%
5+ Eng & Maths
Grade 5+ in both · 2024/2025
0.0%
EBacc entry
% entering EBacc · 2024/2025
31.1
A level APS
Average points per entry · 2024/2025

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Developing academic outcomes

Attainment 8 of 39.1 is below the national average of around 46. Compare with progress data, which may show a different picture.

39.1
Attainment 8
56%
5+ Eng & Maths
2024/2025
Academic year
Pupil progress
Below-average progress

Pupils made below-average progress compared with similar pupils nationally. The confidence interval is entirely below zero.

-0.79
Progress 8
[-1.07, -0.51]
Confidence interval
Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Council allocation figures

Not covered yet

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

We have not collected Hertfordshire council’s allocation figures for this school yet. We only show a verdict when we can cite the council’s published figures. Check Hertfordshire’s admissions page for its allocation booklet.

In-year places (September 2026 to July 2027): Year 7: not stated · Year 8: not stated · Year 9: not stated · Year 10: not stated · Year 11: not stated. As listed by the council on 27 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Performance over time

Attainment 8 over time

Progress 8 over time(not available 2024/25)

University destinations

Share of this school's sixth-form leavers who went on to Oxford or Cambridge, a Russell Group university, or a university in the top third by entry grades. Department for Education data for state-funded schools and colleges.

Oxford or Cambridge
0.3%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 365 students
1231st of 2,082 in England · 54th of 77 in Hertfordshire
Russell Group
2.0%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 365 students
1923rd of 2,082 in England · 75th of 77 in Hertfordshire
Top-third universities
7.5%
Average of 3 years (2019/20–2021/22 leavers), 280 students
1724th of 2,063 in England · 70th of 77 in Hertfordshire
Left sixth formStudentsOxford or CambridgeRussell GroupTop-third universities
2021/22
2024-2025 tables
92Not publishedNot published11%
England 19%
2020/21
2023-2024 tables
101Not publishedNot published9%
England 24%
2019/20
2022-2023 tables
870%
England 1%
1%
England 18%
2%
England 20%
2018/19
2021-2022 tables
820%
England 1%
2%
England 15%
2%
England 17%
2017/18
2020-2021 tables
931%
England 1%
3%
England 16%
6%
England 18%
2015/16
2018-2019 tables
1030%
England 1%
2%
England 14%
4%
England 19%
  • The DfE stopped publishing Oxbridge and Russell Group shares for individual schools after the 2022-23 performance tables (students who left in 2019/20). Top-third figures continue.
  • Figures are percentages of all students who finished 16 to 18 study at the school, counting those who sustained a university place in the two years after leaving.
  • Rankings use the average across years weighted by the number of students; a school needs at least 2 years and 50 students to be ranked. The top-third ranking uses the latest 3 years. Ranks are among state-funded schools and colleges.
  • '<0.5%' means above zero but under half a percent. 'Suppressed' means 5 or fewer students.
  • Source: Department for Education, 16 to 18 progression to higher education or training (Compare school and college performance, Explore education statistics).

Historical results

YearPupilsAtt8P85+ E&MEBacc %EBacc APS
2024/202510139.1—56.4%0.0%2.7
2023/202410536.6-0.7947.6%0.0%2.7
2022/20238637.1-0.6845.0%0.0%2.6
2021/20229639.7-0.7457.0%0.0%2.8

Nearby and similar schools

Other secondary schools in Hertfordshire for local comparison.

Hertfordshire hub
Dame Alice Owen's School
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 72.9Progress 8 +0.92
Compare with Elstree Screen Arts Academy
Watford Grammar School for Boys
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 68.9Progress 8 +0.72
Compare with Elstree Screen Arts Academy
Watford Grammar School for Girls
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 68.2Progress 8 +0.74
Compare with Elstree Screen Arts Academy
Parmiter's School
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 66.5Progress 8 +0.74
Compare with Elstree Screen Arts Academy
Sandringham School
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 65.1Progress 8 +1.06
Compare with Elstree Screen Arts Academy

School information

URN139416
Local authorityHertfordshire
RegionEast of England
PhaseSecondary
TypeUniversity technical college
Gender of entryMixed
Age range14-19
HeadteacherPrincipal Chris Mitchell
TrustDANES EDUCATIONAL TRUST
AdmissionsNon-selective
Religious characterDoes not apply
PostcodeWD6 5NN
Latest pupils101
FSM eligible21.7%

Contact and identifiers

Studio Way, Elstree, Borehamwood, Hertfordshire, WD6 5NN

https://www.esaacademy.org/View local authority page2083866220
DfE number4004
UKPRN10041658
Opened1 Sept 2013
GIAS updated26 Feb 2026

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated26 Feb 2026
Latest KS4 year2024/2025
Latest KS2 year—
Ofsted published4 Mar 2025

Latest Ofsted inspection

Not judged
Quality of educationOutstanding
Behaviour and attitudesOutstanding
Personal developmentOutstanding
Leadership and managementOutstanding
SafeguardingEffective
Inspection typeS5 Inspection
Category of concern—
Inspection date28 Jan 2025
Publication date4 Mar 2025
View Ofsted report