Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hertfordshire

Freman College

Hertfordshire·Secondary·East of England·Academy converter·SG9 9BT
URN: 137002
CompareDfE profile
53.1
Attainment 8
National avg ≈ 46.4 · 2024/2025
+0.58
Progress 8
2023/2024 · CI: [0.40, 0.77]
74.1%
5+ Eng & Maths
Grade 5+ in both · 2024/2025
27.4%
EBacc entry
% entering EBacc · 2024/2025
36.8
A level APS
Average points per entry · 2024/2025

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Strong academic outcomes

Attainment 8 of 53.1 is above the national average of around 46.

53.1
Attainment 8
74%
5+ Eng & Maths
2024/2025
Academic year
Pupil progress
Above-average progress

Pupils made above-average progress compared with similar pupils nationally. The confidence interval is entirely above zero, which is strong evidence of added value.

+0.58
Progress 8
[0.40, 0.77]
Confidence interval
Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Council allocation figures

Not covered yet

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

We have not collected Hertfordshire council’s allocation figures for this school yet. We only show a verdict when we can cite the council’s published figures. Check Hertfordshire’s admissions page for its allocation booklet.

In-year places (September 2026 to July 2027): Year 7: not stated · Year 8: not stated · Year 9: no places · Year 10: no places · Year 11: no places. As listed by the council on 27 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Performance over time

Attainment 8 over time

Progress 8 over time(not available 2024/25)

University destinations

Share of this school's sixth-form leavers who went on to Oxford or Cambridge, a Russell Group university, or a university in the top third by entry grades. Department for Education data for state-funded schools and colleges.

Oxford or Cambridge
0.3%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 476 students
1231st of 2,082 in England · 54th of 77 in Hertfordshire
Russell Group
15.4%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 476 students
956th of 2,082 in England · 40th of 77 in Hertfordshire
Top-third universities
21.3%
Average of 3 years (2019/20–2021/22 leavers), 377 students
993rd of 2,063 in England · 44th of 77 in Hertfordshire
Left sixth formStudentsOxford or CambridgeRussell GroupTop-third universities
2021/22
2024-2025 tables
109Not publishedNot published22%
England 19%
2020/21
2023-2024 tables
135Not publishedNot published24%
England 24%
2019/20
2022-2023 tables
1330%
England 1%
15%
England 18%
18%
England 20%
2018/19
2021-2022 tables
1210%
England 1%
17%
England 15%
20%
England 17%
2017/18
2020-2021 tables
1171%
England 1%
18%
England 16%
21%
England 18%
2015/16
2018-2019 tables
1050%
England 1%
11%
England 14%
21%
England 19%
  • The DfE stopped publishing Oxbridge and Russell Group shares for individual schools after the 2022-23 performance tables (students who left in 2019/20). Top-third figures continue.
  • Figures are percentages of all students who finished 16 to 18 study at the school, counting those who sustained a university place in the two years after leaving.
  • Rankings use the average across years weighted by the number of students; a school needs at least 2 years and 50 students to be ranked. The top-third ranking uses the latest 3 years. Ranks are among state-funded schools and colleges.
  • '<0.5%' means above zero but under half a percent. 'Suppressed' means 5 or fewer students.
  • Source: Department for Education, 16 to 18 progression to higher education or training (Compare school and college performance, Explore education statistics).

Historical results

YearPupilsAtt8P85+ E&MEBacc %EBacc APS
2024/202525953.1—74.1%27.4%4.6
2023/202423053.6+0.5877.8%30.4%4.6
2022/202321350.4+0.3669.0%38.0%4.4
2021/202224056.6+0.6878.0%37.0%5.0

Nearby and similar schools

Other secondary schools in Hertfordshire for local comparison.

Hertfordshire hub
Dame Alice Owen's School
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 72.9Progress 8 +0.92
Compare with Freman College
Watford Grammar School for Boys
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 68.9Progress 8 +0.72
Compare with Freman College
Watford Grammar School for Girls
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 68.2Progress 8 +0.74
Compare with Freman College
Parmiter's School
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 66.5Progress 8 +0.74
Compare with Freman College
Sandringham School
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 65.1Progress 8 +1.06
Compare with Freman College

School information

URN137002
Local authorityHertfordshire
RegionEast of England
PhaseSecondary
TypeAcademy converter
Gender of entryMixed
Age range13-18
HeadteacherHeadteacher Lisa Jones
TrustFREMAN COLLEGE
AdmissionsNon-selective
Religious characterNone
PostcodeSG9 9BT
Latest pupils259
FSM eligible11.3%

Contact and identifiers

Bowling Green Lane, Buntingford, Hertfordshire, SG9 9BT

http://www.freman.org.uk/1763271818
DfE number4141
UKPRN10034575
Opened1 Aug 2011
GIAS updated27 Jan 2026

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated27 Jan 2026
Latest KS4 year2024/2025
Latest KS2 year—
Ofsted published—

Latest Ofsted inspection

Quality of education—
Behaviour and attitudes—
Personal development—
Leadership and management—
Safeguarding—
Inspection type—
Category of concern—
Inspection date—
Publication date—