Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hertfordshire

Ralph Sadleir School

Hertfordshire·Middle deemed secondary·East of England·Academy converter·SG11 1TF
URN: 140249Requires improvementOfsted published 22 May 2024
CompareDfE profile

Close to home and non-selective, but attainment sits below the national average and the last inspection asked for improvement.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Limited academic data

No GCSE outcome data is available in the years we hold. Check the official DfE performance tables for the most recent results.

Pupil progress
Limited progress data

No Progress 8 data is available for this school in the years we hold.

Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

Watch-outs

  • Key performance data is not available for this school in our dataset. Check the official DfE performance tables.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Middle entry · Hertfordshire council allocation figures, 2023–2026

Add your postcode

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

The furthest child offered a place in 2026 under the “Not Nearest School” rule lived 18.4 km from the school. Add your postcode to see where you would sit.

Why we say “Add your postcode”

  1. In 2026 the furthest child offered a place under the “Not Nearest School” rule lived 18.4 km from the school. Hertfordshire printed 18,438.23 m (allocation day).
  2. 96 applications for 90 places in 2026 (1.1 per place).
What could change this
  • We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
  • Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
  • Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
  • Past allocations never guarantee a place.
The council printed a separate distance for each admission rule in 2026. We use the rule places ran out under (“Not Nearest School”); the others are in the table of sources below.
202420252026
SchoolLast offer, by year

Rings are to scale in straight-line km. Your marker’s direction is arbitrary; only its distance from the school matters.

Last offer distance

Furthest child offered a place.

2023
16.2 kmprinted 16,245.49 m
2024
22.8 kmprinted 22,756.22 m
2025
18.9 kmprinted 18,908 m
2026
18.4 kmprinted 18,438.23 m

Applications and places

Published admission number (PAN) against applications

1.1applications per place

96 applications for 90 places in 2026

64 offers made at allocation day, 2026

Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).

Pupils on roll

School census count against building capacity

283of 360 places

79% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.

In-year places (September 2026 to July 2027): Reception: not stated · Year 1: not stated · Year 2: not stated · Year 3: not stated · Year 4: not stated · Year 5: places available · Year 6: places available · Year 7: places available · Year 8: places available · Year 9: not stated · Year 10: not stated · Year 11: not stated. As listed by the council on 27 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Sources — check them yourself

Every distance the council printed
YearRule or bandPrintedIn km
2026Nearest School3,210.74 m3.2 km
2026Not Nearest School18,438.23 m18.4 km
2025Nearest School2,385.85 m2.4 km
2025Not Nearest School18,908 m18.9 km
2024Nearest School3,448.9 m3.4 km
2024Not Nearest School22,756.22 m22.8 km
2023Nearest School2,208.22 m2.2 km
2023Not Nearest School16,245.49 m16.2 km

Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Nearby and similar schools

Other secondary schools in Hertfordshire for local comparison.

Hertfordshire hub
Dame Alice Owen's School
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 72.9Progress 8 +0.92
Compare with Ralph Sadleir School
Watford Grammar School for Boys
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 68.9Progress 8 +0.72
Compare with Ralph Sadleir School
Watford Grammar School for Girls
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 68.2Progress 8 +0.74
Compare with Ralph Sadleir School
Parmiter's School
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 66.5Progress 8 +0.74
Compare with Ralph Sadleir School
Sandringham School
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 65.1Progress 8 +1.06
Compare with Ralph Sadleir School

School information

URN140249
Local authorityHertfordshire
RegionEast of England
PhaseMiddle deemed secondary
TypeAcademy converter
Gender of entryMixed
Age range9-13
HeadteacherHeadteacher Kerry Scripps
TrustRALPH SADLEIR SCHOOL
AdmissionsNot applicable
Religious characterDoes not apply
PostcodeSG11 1TF
Latest pupils275
FSM eligible15.3%

Contact and identifiers

Station Road, Puckeridge, Ware, Hertfordshire, SG11 1TF

http://ralphsadleir.herts.sch.uk/1920821042
DfE number4146
UKPRN10043458
Opened1 Oct 2013
GIAS updated27 Jan 2026

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated27 Jan 2026
Latest KS4 year—
Latest KS2 year2024/2025
Ofsted published22 May 2024

Latest Ofsted inspection

Requires improvement
Quality of educationRequires improvement
Behaviour and attitudesRequires improvement
Personal developmentRequires improvement
Leadership and managementRequires improvement
SafeguardingEffective
Inspection typeS5 Inspection
Category of concern—
Inspection date23 Apr 2024
Publication date22 May 2024
View Ofsted report