Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hertfordshire

Bishop Wood Church of England Junior School, Tring

Hertfordshire·Primary·East of England·Voluntary aided school·HP23 5AU
URN: 117458GoodOfsted published 9 Jun 2024
68.0%
Expected standard
R+W+M · 2024/2025 · National avg ≈ 61%
22.0%
Higher standard
R+W+M · 2024/2025 · National avg ≈ 18%
85.0%
Reading expected
2024/2025
73.0%
Maths expected
2024/2025

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Strong academic outcomes

68% of pupils reached the expected standard in reading, writing and maths, above the national average of around 61%.

68%
Expected standard (R+W+M)
22%
Higher standard (R+W+M)
2024/2025
Academic year
Pupil progress
Progress data not shown

KS2 progress scores (reading, writing, maths progress) are not yet surfaced in this summary. Check the performance table section below.

Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

This school has a Church of England religious character. Admissions may prioritise pupils who meet faith criteria. A Supplementary Information Form (SIF) may be required.

Watch-outs

  • Faith admissions criteria apply (Church of England). A Supplementary Information Form may be required. Evidence of faith practice may be needed.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Council allocation figures

Not covered yet

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

We have not collected Hertfordshire council’s allocation figures for this school yet. We only show a verdict when we can cite the council’s published figures. Check Hertfordshire’s admissions page for its allocation booklet.

In-year places (September 2026 to July 2027): Reception: not stated · Year 1: not stated · Year 2: not stated · Year 3: places available · Year 4: no places · Year 5: no places · Year 6: places available. As listed by the council on 27 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

KS2 results history

YearPupilsExpected %Higher %ReadingWritingMathsRead scoreMaths score
2024/2025—68.0%22.0%85.0%88.0%73.0%108.0105.0
2023/2024—74.0%8.0%90.0%82.0%80.0%109.0104.0
2022/2023—84.0%13.0%93.0%87.0%91.0%111.0108.0

Nearby and similar schools

Other primary schools in Hertfordshire for local comparison.

Hertfordshire hub

School information

URN117458
Local authorityHertfordshire
RegionEast of England
PhasePrimary
TypeVoluntary aided school
Gender of entryMixed
Age range7-11
HeadteacherActing Headteacher Gary Stanley
Trust—
AdmissionsNot applicable
Religious characterChurch of England
PostcodeHP23 5AU
Latest pupils243
FSM eligible13.2%

Contact and identifiers

Frogmore Street, Tring, Hertfordshire, HP23 5AU

www.bishopwood.herts.sch.uk/View local authority page1442822024
DfE number3371
UKPRN10078499
Opened—
GIAS updated4 Nov 2025

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated4 Nov 2025
Latest KS4 year—
Latest KS2 year2024/2025
Ofsted published9 Jun 2024

Latest Ofsted inspection

Good
Quality of educationGood
Behaviour and attitudesGood
Personal developmentGood
Leadership and managementGood
SafeguardingEffective
Inspection typeS5 Inspection
Category of concern—
Inspection date30 Apr 2024
Publication date9 Jun 2024
View Ofsted report