Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hertfordshire

Crabtree Infants' School

Hertfordshire·Primary·East of England·Academy converter·AL5 5PU
URN: 140707OutstandingOfsted published 18 Mar 2024
CompareDfE profile

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Limited academic data

No KS2 expected standard data is available in the years we hold. Check the official DfE performance tables for the most recent results.

Pupil progress
Progress data not shown

KS2 progress scores (reading, writing, maths progress) are not yet surfaced in this summary. Check the performance table section below.

Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

Watch-outs

  • Key performance data is not available for this school in our dataset. Check the official DfE performance tables.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Reception entry · Hertfordshire council allocation figures, 2023–2026

Add your postcode

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

The furthest child offered a place in 2026 under the “Not Nearest School” rule lived 0.6 km from the school. Add your postcode to see where you would sit.

Why we say “Add your postcode”

  1. In 2026 the furthest child offered a place under the “Not Nearest School” rule lived 0.6 km from the school. Hertfordshire printed 612.22 m (allocation day).
  2. 258 applications for 60 places in 2026 (4.3 per place).
What could change this
  • We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
  • Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
  • Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
  • Past allocations never guarantee a place.
The council printed a separate distance for each admission rule in 2026. We use the rule places ran out under (“Not Nearest School”); the others are in the table of sources below.
202420252026
SchoolLast offer, by year

Rings are to scale in straight-line km. Your marker’s direction is arbitrary; only its distance from the school matters.

Last offer distance

Furthest child offered a place.

2023
2.4 kmprinted 2,445.39 m
2024
0.7 kmprinted 737.88 m
2025
0.6 kmprinted 592.47 m
2026
0.6 kmprinted 612.22 m

Applications and places

Published admission number (PAN) against applications

4.3applications per place

258 applications for 60 places in 2026

60 offers made at allocation day, 2026

Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).

Pupils on roll

School census count against building capacity

178of 180 places

99% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.

In-year places (September 2026 to July 2027): Reception: places available · Year 1: no places · Year 2: no places · Year 3: not stated · Year 4: not stated · Year 5: not stated · Year 6: not stated. As listed by the council on 27 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Sources — check them yourself

Every distance the council printed
YearRule or bandPrintedIn km
2026Nearest School559.28 m0.6 km
2026Not Nearest School612.22 m0.6 km
2025Nearest School473.05 m0.5 km
2025Not Nearest School592.47 m0.6 km
2024Nearest School638.88 m0.6 km
2024Not Nearest School737.88 m0.7 km
2023Nearest School526.61 m0.5 km
2023Distance2,445.39 m2.4 km

Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Applications and offers

National offer day figures that councils report to the Department for Education. These are counts only: they do not show how far away the last child offered a place lived.

Reception entry

Year of entryPlaces offeredPut it firstFirst choices offeredApplications (any preference)
September 2026607659 (78%)255
September 2025598459 (70%)264
September 2024598558 (68%)265
September 2023606260 (97%)244
September 2022597559 (79%)256

Source: Department for Education: Primary and secondary school applications and offers, Academic year 2026/27, school-level data, published 18 June 2026. “–” means the figure was not published. The council’s own allocation figures are the official record: check Hertfordshire’s admissions page for cut-off distances, the admission rules and this year’s dates.

School information

URN140707
Local authorityHertfordshire
RegionEast of England
PhasePrimary
TypeAcademy converter
Gender of entryMixed
Age range4-7
HeadteacherHeadteacher Emma Simmons
TrustIVY LEARNING TRUST
AdmissionsNot applicable
Religious characterDoes not apply
PostcodeAL5 5PU
Latest pupils180
FSM eligible2.2%

Contact and identifiers

Crabtree Lane, Harpenden, Hertfordshire, AL5 5PU

http://www.crabtreeschools.org1582623597
DfE number2390
UKPRN10045674
Opened1 Apr 2014
GIAS updated9 Jul 2025

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated9 Jul 2025
Latest KS4 year—
Latest KS2 year—
Ofsted published18 Mar 2024

Latest Ofsted inspection

Outstanding
Quality of educationOutstanding
Behaviour and attitudesOutstanding
Personal developmentOutstanding
Leadership and managementOutstanding
SafeguardingEffective
Inspection typeS5 Inspection
Category of concern—
Inspection date7 Feb 2024
Publication date18 Mar 2024
View Ofsted report