Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hertfordshire

Crabtree Junior School

Hertfordshire·Primary·East of England·Academy converter·AL5 5PU
URN: 140708OutstandingOfsted published 15 Jan 2024
86.0%
Expected standard
R+W+M · 2024/2025 · National avg ≈ 61%
25.0%
Higher standard
R+W+M · 2024/2025 · National avg ≈ 18%
94.0%
Reading expected
2024/2025
88.0%
Maths expected
2024/2025

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Very strong academic outcomes

86% of pupils reached the expected standard in reading, writing and maths — well above the national average of around 61%.

86%
Expected standard (R+W+M)
25%
Higher standard (R+W+M)
2024/2025
Academic year
Pupil progress
Progress data not shown

KS2 progress scores (reading, writing, maths progress) are not yet surfaced in this summary. Check the performance table section below.

Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Year 3 entry · Hertfordshire council allocation figures, 2023–2026

Add your postcode

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

The furthest child offered a place in 2026 lived 2.7 km from the school. Add your postcode to see where you would sit.

Why we say “Add your postcode”

  1. In 2026 the furthest child offered a place lived 2.7 km from the school. Hertfordshire printed 2,705.75 m (allocation day).
  2. 87 applications for 64 places in 2026 (1.4 per place).
What could change this
  • We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
  • Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
  • Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
  • Past allocations never guarantee a place.
202420252026
SchoolLast offer, by year

Rings are to scale in straight-line km. Your marker’s direction is arbitrary; only its distance from the school matters.

Last offer distance

Furthest child offered a place.

2023
Not published
2024
1.5 kmprinted 1,531.08 m
2025
16.3 kmprinted 16,330.58 m
2026
2.7 kmprinted 2,705.75 m

Applications and places

Published admission number (PAN) against applications

1.4applications per place

87 applications for 64 places in 2026

60 offers made at allocation day, 2026

Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).

Pupils on roll

School census count against building capacity

256of 256 places

100% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.

In-year places (September 2026 to July 2027): Reception: not stated · Year 1: not stated · Year 2: not stated · Year 3: places available · Year 4: no places · Year 5: no places · Year 6: no places. As listed by the council on 27 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Sources — check them yourself

Every distance the council printed
YearRule or bandPrintedIn km
2025Nearest School373 m0.4 km
2025Not Nearest School16,330.58 m16.3 km

Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.

KS2 results history

YearPupilsExpected %Higher %ReadingWritingMathsRead scoreMaths score
2024/2025—86.0%25.0%94.0%91.0%88.0%110.0107.0
2023/2024—85.0%20.0%92.0%91.0%89.0%110.0108.0
2022/2023—75.0%12.0%89.0%78.0%83.0%110.0107.0

Nearby and similar schools

Other primary schools in Hertfordshire for local comparison.

Hertfordshire hub

School information

URN140708
Local authorityHertfordshire
RegionEast of England
PhasePrimary
TypeAcademy converter
Gender of entryMixed
Age range7-11
HeadteacherHeadteacher Emma Simmons
TrustIVY LEARNING TRUST
AdmissionsNot applicable
Religious characterDoes not apply
PostcodeAL5 5PU
Latest pupils256
FSM eligible0.4%

Contact and identifiers

Crabtree Lane, Harpenden, Hertfordshire, AL5 5PU

http://www.crabtreeschools.orgView local authority page1582623501
DfE number2344
UKPRN10045675
Opened1 Apr 2014
GIAS updated11 Feb 2026

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated11 Feb 2026
Latest KS4 year—
Latest KS2 year2024/2025
Ofsted published15 Jan 2024

Latest Ofsted inspection

Outstanding
Quality of educationOutstanding
Behaviour and attitudesOutstanding
Personal developmentOutstanding
Leadership and managementOutstanding
SafeguardingEffective
Inspection typeS5 Inspection
Category of concern—
Inspection date29 Nov 2023
Publication date15 Jan 2024
View Ofsted report