Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hackney

Cardinal Pole Catholic School

Hackney·Secondary·London·Academy converter·E9 6LG
URN: 150604
CompareDfE profile
42.9
Attainment 8
National avg ≈ 46.4 · 2024/2025
n/a
Progress 8
No published value in available years
57.4%
5+ Eng & Maths
Grade 5+ in both · 2024/2025
67.7%
EBacc entry
% entering EBacc · 2024/2025
32.9
A level APS
Average points per entry · 2024/2025

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Developing academic outcomes

Attainment 8 of 42.9 is below the national average of around 46. Compare with progress data, which may show a different picture.

42.9
Attainment 8
57%
5+ Eng & Maths
2024/2025
Academic year
Pupil progress
Limited progress data

No Progress 8 data is available for this school in the years we hold.

Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

This school has a Roman Catholic religious character. Admissions may prioritise pupils who meet faith criteria. A Supplementary Information Form (SIF) may be required.

Watch-outs

  • Faith admissions criteria apply (Roman Catholic). A Supplementary Information Form may be required. Evidence of faith practice may be needed.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Year 7 entry · Hackney council allocation figures, 2025–2026

Depends on band

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

Places are split into 4 bands and each had its own cut-off in 2026, so your chance depends on which band your child is placed in.

Why we say “Depends on band”

  1. Band A: the furthest child offered a place lived 4.3 km away (printed 2.696 miles).
  2. Band B: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.4 km away (printed 0.853 miles).
  3. Band C: the furthest child offered a place lived 3.6 km away (printed 2.212 miles).
  4. Band D: the furthest child offered a place lived 5.6 km away (printed 3.456 miles).
  5. 328 applications for 180 places in 2026 (1.8 per place).
What could change this
  • Your child’s band comes from the banding test the school or council runs. Ask the school when it takes place.
  • We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
  • Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
  • Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
  • Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Each band has its own cut-off, so there is no single ring to draw. The bars below show every band’s distance.

Last offer distance

Furthest child offered a place, by band, 2026.

Band A
4.3 kmprinted 2.696 miles
Band B
1.4 kmprinted 0.853 miles
Band C
3.6 kmprinted 2.212 miles
Band D
5.6 kmprinted 3.456 miles

Applications and places

Published admission number (PAN) against applications

1.8applications per place

328 applications for 180 places in 2026

178 offers made at national offer day, 2026

Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).

Pupils on roll

School census count against building capacity

980of 1,140 places

86% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.

In-year places: Year 7: places available · Year 8: not stated · Year 9: not stated · Year 10: not stated · Year 11: not stated. As listed by the council on 14 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Sources — check them yourself

Every distance the council printed
YearRule or bandPrintedIn km
2026A · Distance2.696 miles4.3 km
2026B · Distance0.853 miles1.4 km
2026C · Distance2.212 miles3.6 km
2026D · Distance3.456 miles5.6 km
2025B · Distance0.293 miles0.5 km
2025C · Distance2.616 miles4.2 km
2025D · Distance1.386 miles2.2 km

Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Applications and offers

National offer day figures that councils report to the Department for Education. These are counts only: they do not show how far away the last child offered a place lived.

Year 7 entry

Year of entryPlaces offeredPut it firstFirst choices offeredApplications (any preference)
September 2026155124124 (100%)311
September 2025138108108 (100%)306
September 2024175134133 (99%)403
September 2023166106106 (100%)387
September 2022191109109 (100%)373

Source: Department for Education: Primary and secondary school applications and offers, Academic year 2026/27, school-level data, published 18 June 2026. “–” means the figure was not published. The council’s own allocation figures are the official record: check Hackney’s admissions page for cut-off distances, the admission rules and this year’s dates.

University destinations

Share of this school's sixth-form leavers who went on to Oxford or Cambridge, a Russell Group university, or a university in the top third by entry grades. Department for Education data for state-funded schools and colleges.

Oxford or Cambridge
1.0%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 284 students
671st of 2,082 in England · 5th of 11 in Hackney
Russell Group
20.6%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 284 students
657th of 2,082 in England · 8th of 11 in Hackney
Top-third universities
33.6%
Average of 3 years (2019/20–2021/22 leavers), 249 students
437th of 2,063 in England · 3rd of 11 in Hackney
Left sixth formStudentsOxford or CambridgeRussell GroupTop-third universities
2021/22
2024-2025 tables
94Not publishedNot published19%
England 19%
2020/21
2023-2024 tables
92Not publishedNot published40%
England 24%
2019/20
2022-2023 tables
632%
England 1%
38%
England 18%
46%
England 20%
2018/19
2021-2022 tables
691%
England 1%
16%
England 15%
19%
England 17%
2017/18
2020-2021 tables
801%
England 1%
16%
England 16%
20%
England 18%
2015/16
2018-2019 tables
720%
England 1%
15%
England 14%
40%
England 19%
  • The DfE stopped publishing Oxbridge and Russell Group shares for individual schools after the 2022-23 performance tables (students who left in 2019/20). Top-third figures continue.
  • Figures are percentages of all students who finished 16 to 18 study at the school, counting those who sustained a university place in the two years after leaving.
  • Rankings use the average across years weighted by the number of students; a school needs at least 2 years and 50 students to be ranked. The top-third ranking uses the latest 3 years. Ranks are among state-funded schools and colleges.
  • '<0.5%' means above zero but under half a percent. 'Suppressed' means 5 or fewer students.
  • Some years were published under this school's previous URN, before it converted or merged.
  • Source: Department for Education, 16 to 18 progression to higher education or training (Compare school and college performance, Explore education statistics).

Historical results

YearPupilsAtt8P85+ E&MEBacc %EBacc APS
2024/202515542.9—57.4%67.7%3.8

Nearby and similar schools

Other secondary schools in Hackney for local comparison.

Hackney hub
Mossbourne Community Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 65.1Progress 8 +1.47
Compare with Cardinal Pole Catholic School
Mossbourne Victoria Park Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 64.3Progress 8 +1.54
Compare with Cardinal Pole Catholic School
Clapton Girls' Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 59.4Progress 8 +0.84
Compare with Cardinal Pole Catholic School

School information

URN150604
Local authorityHackney
RegionLondon
PhaseSecondary
TypeAcademy converter
Gender of entryMixed
Age range11-19
HeadteacherHeadteacher Adam Hall
TrustLUX MUNDI CATHOLIC ACADEMY TRUST
AdmissionsNon-selective
Religious characterRoman Catholic
PostcodeE9 6LG
Latest pupils155
FSM eligible64.2%

Contact and identifiers

205 Morning Lane, Hackney, London, E9 6LG

http://www.cardinalpole.co.uk2089855150
DfE number4714
UKPRN10094510
Opened1 Sept 2024
GIAS updated20 Jan 2026

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated20 Jan 2026
Latest KS4 year2024/2025
Latest KS2 year—
Ofsted published—

Latest Ofsted inspection

Quality of education—
Behaviour and attitudes—
Personal development—
Leadership and management—
Safeguarding—
Inspection type—
Category of concern—
Inspection date—
Publication date—