Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hackney

Clapton Girls' Academy

Hackney·Secondary·London·Academy converter·E5 0RB
URN: 137442OutstandingOfsted published 4 Jul 2024
CompareDfE profile
59.4
Attainment 8
National avg ≈ 46.4 · 2024/2025
+0.84
Progress 8
2023/2024 · CI: [0.63, 1.06]
77.7%
5+ Eng & Maths
Grade 5+ in both · 2024/2025
44.6%
EBacc entry
% entering EBacc · 2024/2025
38.8
A level APS
Average points per entry · 2024/2025

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Very strong academic outcomes

Attainment 8 of 59.4 is well above the national average of around 46. This reflects strong GCSE outcomes across the standard subject basket.

59.4
Attainment 8
78%
5+ Eng & Maths
2024/2025
Academic year
Pupil progress
Above-average progress

Pupils made above-average progress compared with similar pupils nationally. The confidence interval is entirely above zero, which is strong evidence of added value.

+0.84
Progress 8
[0.63, 1.06]
Confidence interval
Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Year 7 entry · Hackney council allocation figures, 2023–2026

Depends on band

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

Places are split into 5 bands and each had its own cut-off in 2026, so your chance depends on which band your child is placed in.

Why we say “Depends on band”

  1. Band A: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.0 km away (printed 0.614 miles).
  2. Band B: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.2 km away (printed 0.746 miles).
  3. Band C: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.2 km away (printed 0.747 miles).
  4. Band D: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.4 km away (printed 0.885 miles).
  5. Band E: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.2 km away (printed 0.758 miles).
  6. 580 applications for 180 places in 2026 (3.2 per place).
What could change this
  • Your child’s band comes from the banding test the school or council runs. Ask the school when it takes place.
  • We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
  • Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
  • Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
  • Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Each band has its own cut-off, so there is no single ring to draw. The bars below show every band’s distance.

Last offer distance

Furthest child offered a place, by band, 2026.

Band A
1.0 kmprinted 0.614 miles
Band B
1.2 kmprinted 0.746 miles
Band C
1.2 kmprinted 0.747 miles
Band D
1.4 kmprinted 0.885 miles
Band E
1.2 kmprinted 0.758 miles

Applications and places

Published admission number (PAN) against applications

3.2applications per place

580 applications for 180 places in 2026

180 offers made at national offer day, 2026

Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).

Pupils on roll

School census count against building capacity

1,169of 1,200 places

97% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.

In-year places: Year 7: not stated · Year 8: not stated · Year 9: not stated · Year 10: not stated · Year 11: not stated. As listed by the council on 14 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Sources — check them yourself

Every distance the council printed
YearRule or bandPrintedIn km
2026A · Distance0.614 miles1.0 km
2026B · Distance0.746 miles1.2 km
2026C · Distance0.747 miles1.2 km
2026D · Distance0.885 miles1.4 km
2026E · Distance0.758 miles1.2 km
2025A · Distance0.995 miles1.6 km
2025B · Distance0.766 miles1.2 km
2025C · Distance0.747 miles1.2 km
2025D · Distance0.865 miles1.4 km
2025E · Distance0.954 miles1.5 km
2024A · Distance0.985 miles1.6 km
2024B · Distance0.878 miles1.4 km
2024C · Distance0.607 miles1.0 km
2024D · Distance0.898 miles1.4 km
2024E · Distance0.875 miles1.4 km
2023A · Distance0.911 miles1.5 km
2023B · Distance1.125 miles1.8 km
2023C · Distance0.844 miles1.4 km
2023D · Distance0.857 miles1.4 km
2023E · Distance0.794 miles1.3 km

Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Applications and offers

National offer day figures that councils report to the Department for Education. These are counts only: they do not show how far away the last child offered a place lived.

Year 7 entry

Year of entryPlaces offeredPut it firstFirst choices offeredApplications (any preference)
September 2026171258154 (60%)559
September 2025174207143 (69%)512
September 2024177223147 (66%)563
September 2023174198141 (71%)572
September 2022179183126 (69%)567

Source: Department for Education: Primary and secondary school applications and offers, Academic year 2026/27, school-level data, published 18 June 2026. “–” means the figure was not published. The council’s own allocation figures are the official record: check Hackney’s admissions page for cut-off distances, the admission rules and this year’s dates.

Performance over time

Attainment 8 over time

Progress 8 over time(not available 2024/25)

University destinations

Share of this school's sixth-form leavers who went on to Oxford or Cambridge, a Russell Group university, or a university in the top third by entry grades. Department for Education data for state-funded schools and colleges.

Oxford or Cambridge
0.8%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 424 students
736th of 2,082 in England · 7th of 11 in Hackney
Russell Group
21.7%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 424 students
601st of 2,082 in England · 7th of 11 in Hackney
Top-third universities
29.7%
Average of 3 years (2019/20–2021/22 leavers), 374 students
563rd of 2,063 in England · 5th of 11 in Hackney
Left sixth formStudentsOxford or CambridgeRussell GroupTop-third universities
2021/22
2024-2025 tables
137Not publishedNot published28%
England 19%
2020/21
2023-2024 tables
114Not publishedNot published38%
England 24%
2019/20
2022-2023 tables
1232%
England 1%
23%
England 18%
24%
England 20%
2018/19
2021-2022 tables
1011%
England 1%
22%
England 15%
23%
England 17%
2017/18
2020-2021 tables
1060%
England 1%
24%
England 16%
24%
England 18%
2015/16
2018-2019 tables
940%
England 1%
17%
England 14%
21%
England 19%
  • The DfE stopped publishing Oxbridge and Russell Group shares for individual schools after the 2022-23 performance tables (students who left in 2019/20). Top-third figures continue.
  • Figures are percentages of all students who finished 16 to 18 study at the school, counting those who sustained a university place in the two years after leaving.
  • Rankings use the average across years weighted by the number of students; a school needs at least 2 years and 50 students to be ranked. The top-third ranking uses the latest 3 years. Ranks are among state-funded schools and colleges.
  • '<0.5%' means above zero but under half a percent. 'Suppressed' means 5 or fewer students.
  • Source: Department for Education, 16 to 18 progression to higher education or training (Compare school and college performance, Explore education statistics).

Historical results

YearPupilsAtt8P85+ E&MEBacc %EBacc APS
2024/202517559.4—77.7%44.6%5.3
2023/202417557.8+0.8477.7%29.7%4.9
2022/202317357.4+0.5577.0%40.0%5.0
2021/202217561.4+0.3979.0%40.0%5.3

Nearby and similar schools

Other secondary schools in Hackney for local comparison.

Hackney hub
Mossbourne Community Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 65.1Progress 8 +1.47
Compare with Clapton Girls' Academy
Mossbourne Victoria Park Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 64.3Progress 8 +1.54
Compare with Clapton Girls' Academy
City of London Academy, Shoreditch Park
Ofsted Not judgedAttainment 8 54.3Progress 8 +0.68
Compare with Clapton Girls' Academy

School information

URN137442
Local authorityHackney
RegionLondon
PhaseSecondary
TypeAcademy converter
Gender of entryGirls
Age range11-19
HeadteacherHeadteacher Anna Feltham
TrustCLAPTON GIRLS' ACADEMY TRUST
AdmissionsNon-selective
Religious characterDoes not apply
PostcodeE5 0RB
Latest pupils175
FSM eligible36.7%

Contact and identifiers

Laura Place, Lower Clapton Road, London, E5 0RB

www.clapton.hackney.sch.uk2089856641
DfE number4302
UKPRN10034561
Opened1 Sept 2011
GIAS updated3 Feb 2026

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated3 Feb 2026
Latest KS4 year2024/2025
Latest KS2 year—
Ofsted published4 Jul 2024

Latest Ofsted inspection

Outstanding
Quality of educationOutstanding
Behaviour and attitudesOutstanding
Personal developmentOutstanding
Leadership and managementOutstanding
SafeguardingEffective
Inspection typeS5 Inspection
Category of concern—
Inspection date22 May 2024
Publication date4 Jul 2024
View Ofsted report