Hackney
Mossbourne Victoria Park Academy
Strong results and, more tellingly, pupils across the ability range leave well ahead of where they started.
What the data says
Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.
Attainment 8 of 64.3 is well above the national average of around 46. This reflects strong GCSE outcomes across the standard subject basket.
- 64.3
- Attainment 8
- 87%
- 5+ Eng & Maths
- 2024/2025
- Academic year
Pupils made above-average progress compared with similar pupils nationally. The confidence interval is entirely above zero, which is strong evidence of added value.
- +1.54
- Progress 8
- [1.31, 1.77]
- Confidence interval
Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.
What to do next
- Verify the school's official admissions policy
- Book an open day or school visit
- Add this school to your shortlist and compare with backup options
Admissions and catchment
Year 7 entry · Hackney council allocation figures, 2023–2026
Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.
Places are split into 4 bands and each had its own cut-off in 2026, so your chance depends on which band your child is placed in.
Why we say “Depends on band”
- Band A: the furthest child offered a place lived 0.5 km away (printed 0.326 miles).
- Band B: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.0 km away (printed 0.594 miles).
- Band C: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.5 km away (printed 0.903 miles).
- Band D: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.6 km away (printed 0.967 miles).
- 676 applications for 168 places in 2026 (4.0 per place).
What could change this
- Your child’s band comes from the banding test the school or council runs. Ask the school when it takes place.
- We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
- Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
- Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
- Past allocations never guarantee a place.
Each band has its own cut-off, so there is no single ring to draw. The bars below show every band’s distance.
Last offer distance
Furthest child offered a place, by band, 2026.
Applications and places
Published admission number (PAN) against applications
676 applications for 168 places in 2026
168 offers made at national offer day, 2026
Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).
Pupils on roll
School census count against building capacity
105% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.
In-year places: Year 7: not stated · Year 8: not stated · Year 9: not stated · Year 10: not stated · Year 11: not stated. As listed by the council on 14 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.
Sources — check them yourself
- 2026 (national offer day): Hackney council allocation figures (PDF, page 2)
- 2025 (national offer day): Hackney council allocation figures (PDF, page 5)
- 2024 (national offer day): Hackney council allocation figures (PDF, page 8)
- 2023 (national offer day): Hackney council allocation figures (PDF, page 11)
- Official admissions page: Hackney. Use its address checker or booklet to confirm your own position.
Every distance the council printed
| Year | Rule or band | Printed | In km |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | A · Distance | 0.326 miles | 0.5 km |
| 2026 | B · Distance | 0.594 miles | 1.0 km |
| 2026 | C · Distance | 0.903 miles | 1.5 km |
| 2026 | D · Distance | 0.967 miles | 1.6 km |
| 2025 | A · Distance | 0.359 miles | 0.6 km |
| 2025 | B · Distance | 0.514 miles | 0.8 km |
| 2025 | C · Distance | 0.935 miles | 1.5 km |
| 2025 | D · Distance | 1.168 miles | 1.9 km |
| 2024 | A · Distance | 0.679 miles | 1.1 km |
| 2024 | B · Distance | 0.407 miles | 0.7 km |
| 2024 | C · Distance | 0.368 miles | 0.6 km |
| 2024 | D · Distance | 0.452 miles | 0.7 km |
| 2023 | A · Distance | 0.277 miles | 0.4 km |
| 2023 | B · Distance | 0.39 miles | 0.6 km |
| 2023 | C · Distance | 0.479 miles | 0.8 km |
| 2023 | D · Distance | 0.474 miles | 0.8 km |
Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.
Applications and offers
National offer day figures that councils report to the Department for Education. These are counts only: they do not show how far away the last child offered a place lived.
Year 7 entry
| Year of entry | Places offered | Put it first | First choices offered | Applications (any preference) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| September 2026 | 159 | 229 | 151 (66%) | 653 |
| September 2025 | 165 | 239 | 146 (61%) | 633 |
| September 2024 | 160 | 245 | 145 (59%) | 756 |
| September 2023 | 163 | 264 | 148 (56%) | 774 |
| September 2022 | 167 | 220 | 136 (62%) | 799 |
Source: Department for Education: Primary and secondary school applications and offers, Academic year 2026/27, school-level data, published 18 June 2026. “–” means the figure was not published. The council’s own allocation figures are the official record: check Hackney’s admissions page for cut-off distances, the admission rules and this year’s dates.
Performance over time
Attainment 8 over time
Progress 8 over time(not available 2024/25)
Historical results
| Year | Pupils | Att8 | P8 | 5+ E&M | EBacc % | EBacc APS |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024/2025 | 156 | 64.3 | — | 86.5% | 98.7% | 6.3 |
| 2023/2024 | 162 | 65.2 | +1.54 | 91.4% | 98.8% | 6.3 |
| 2022/2023 | 158 | 65.3 | +1.15 | 87.0% | 100.0% | 6.5 |
| 2021/2022 | 159 | 64.8 | +0.90 | 84.0% | 98.0% | 6.5 |
Nearby and similar schools
Other secondary schools in Hackney for local comparison.
School information
| URN | 140210 |
| Local authority | Hackney |
| Region | London |
| Phase | Secondary |
| Type | Academy sponsor led |
| Gender of entry | Mixed |
| Age range | 11-18 |
| Headteacher | Matthew Toothe |
| Trust | THE MOSSBOURNE FEDERATION |
| Admissions | Non-selective |
| Religious character | None |
| Postcode | E9 7HD |
| Latest pupils | 156 |
| FSM eligible | 47.8% |
Contact and identifiers
Victoria Park Road, Hackney, London, E9 7HD
www.mvpa.mossbourne.orgView local authority page2085104550| DfE number | 4003 |
| UKPRN | 10047224 |
| Opened | 1 Sept 2014 |
| GIAS updated | 25 Mar 2026 |
Data sources and freshness
| Official record updated | 25 Mar 2026 |
| Latest KS4 year | 2024/2025 |
| Latest KS2 year | — |
| Ofsted published | 28 Mar 2023 |
Latest Ofsted inspection
| Quality of education | Outstanding |
| Behaviour and attitudes | Outstanding |
| Personal development | Outstanding |
| Leadership and management | Outstanding |
| Safeguarding | Effective |
| Inspection type | S5 Inspection |
| Category of concern | — |
| Inspection date | 24 Jan 2023 |
| Publication date | 28 Mar 2023 |