Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hackney

City of London Academy, Shoreditch Park

Hackney·Secondary·London·Free schools·N1 5JU
URN: 143756Not judgedOfsted published 4 Mar 2025
54.3
Attainment 8
National avg ≈ 46.4 · 2024/2025
+0.68
Progress 8
2023/2024 · CI: [0.38, 0.98]
74.5%
5+ Eng & Maths
Grade 5+ in both · 2024/2025
63.8%
EBacc entry
% entering EBacc · 2024/2025
41.3
A level APS
Average points per entry · 2024/2025

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Strong academic outcomes

Attainment 8 of 54.3 is above the national average of around 46.

54.3
Attainment 8
75%
5+ Eng & Maths
2024/2025
Academic year
Pupil progress
Above-average progress

Pupils made above-average progress compared with similar pupils nationally. The confidence interval is entirely above zero, which is strong evidence of added value.

+0.68
Progress 8
[0.38, 0.98]
Confidence interval
Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Year 7 entry · Hackney council allocation figures, 2023–2026

Depends on band

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

Places are split into 4 bands and each had its own cut-off in 2026, so your chance depends on which band your child is placed in.

Why we say “Depends on band”

  1. Band A: the furthest child offered a place lived 2.7 km away (printed 1.657 miles).
  2. Band B: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.0 km away (printed 0.619 miles).
  3. Band C: the furthest child offered a place lived 0.6 km away (printed 0.358 miles).
  4. Band D: the furthest child offered a place lived 0.7 km away (printed 0.448 miles).
  5. 735 applications for 180 places in 2026 (4.1 per place).
What could change this
  • Your child’s band comes from the banding test the school or council runs. Ask the school when it takes place.
  • We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
  • Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
  • Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
  • Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Each band has its own cut-off, so there is no single ring to draw. The bars below show every band’s distance.

Last offer distance

Furthest child offered a place, by band, 2026.

Band A
2.7 kmprinted 1.657 miles
Band B
1.0 kmprinted 0.619 miles
Band C
0.6 kmprinted 0.358 miles
Band D
0.7 kmprinted 0.448 miles

Applications and places

Published admission number (PAN) against applications

4.1applications per place

735 applications for 180 places in 2026

181 offers made at national offer day, 2026

Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).

Pupils on roll

School census count against building capacity

914of 1,140 places

80% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.

In-year places: Year 7: not stated · Year 8: places available · Year 9: not stated · Year 10: not stated · Year 11: not stated. As listed by the council on 14 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Sources — check them yourself

Every distance the council printed
YearRule or bandPrintedIn km
2026A · Distance1.657 miles2.7 km
2026B · Distance0.619 miles1.0 km
2026C · Distance0.358 miles0.6 km
2026D · Distance0.448 miles0.7 km
2025A · Distance2.262 miles3.6 km
2025B · Distance2.364 miles3.8 km
2025C · Distance0.945 miles1.5 km
2025D · Distance3.148 miles5.1 km
2024A · Distance1.339 miles2.2 km
2024B · Distance2.819 miles4.5 km
2024C · Distance0.959 miles1.5 km
2024D · Distance2.458 miles4.0 km
2023A · Distance0.933 miles1.5 km
2023B · Distance0.518 miles0.8 km
2023C · Distance0.612 miles1.0 km
2023D · Distance0.254 miles0.4 km

Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Applications and offers

National offer day figures that councils report to the Department for Education. These are counts only: they do not show how far away the last child offered a place lived.

Year 7 entry

Year of entryPlaces offeredPut it firstFirst choices offeredApplications (any preference)
September 2026170205137 (67%)714
September 2025169135130 (96%)580
September 2024175134130 (97%)608
September 2023172202147 (73%)678
September 2022189207150 (72%)700

Source: Department for Education: Primary and secondary school applications and offers, Academic year 2026/27, school-level data, published 18 June 2026. “–” means the figure was not published. The council’s own allocation figures are the official record: check Hackney’s admissions page for cut-off distances, the admission rules and this year’s dates.

Performance over time

Attainment 8 over time

Progress 8 over time(not available 2024/25)

Historical results

YearPupilsAtt8P85+ E&MEBacc %EBacc APS
2024/20259454.3—74.5%63.8%5.2
2023/20248858.9+0.6883.0%79.5%5.6
2022/202315353.8+0.3774.0%78.0%5.2
2021/202216256.8+0.1984.0%79.0%5.5

Nearby and similar schools

Other secondary schools in Hackney for local comparison.

Hackney hub

School information

URN143756
Local authorityHackney
RegionLondon
PhaseSecondary
TypeFree schools
Gender of entryMixed
Age range11-19
HeadteacherHolly Arles
TrustCITY OF LONDON ACADEMIES TRUST
Admissions—
Religious characterNone
PostcodeN1 5JU
Latest pupils94
FSM eligible58.1%

Contact and identifiers

Hyde Road, London, N1 5JU

www.shoreditch.cola.org.ukView local authority page2030112162
DfE number4005
UKPRN10064959
Opened1 Sept 2017
GIAS updated29 Jan 2026

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated29 Jan 2026
Latest KS4 year2024/2025
Latest KS2 year—
Ofsted published4 Mar 2025

Latest Ofsted inspection

Not judged
Quality of educationOutstanding
Behaviour and attitudesOutstanding
Personal developmentOutstanding
Leadership and managementOutstanding
SafeguardingEffective
Inspection typeS5 Inspection
Category of concern—
Inspection date22 Jan 2025
Publication date4 Mar 2025
View Ofsted report