Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hackney

The City Academy, Hackney

Hackney·Secondary·London·Academy sponsor led·E9 6EA
URN: 135835GoodOfsted published 14 Jun 2023
49.1
Attainment 8
National avg ≈ 46.4 · 2024/2025
+0.56
Progress 8
2023/2024 · CI: [0.36, 0.77]
65.4%
5+ Eng & Maths
Grade 5+ in both · 2024/2025
54.8%
EBacc entry
% entering EBacc · 2024/2025
36.8
A level APS
Average points per entry · 2024/2025

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Around average academic outcomes

Attainment 8 of 49.1 is close to the national average of around 46.

49.1
Attainment 8
65%
5+ Eng & Maths
2024/2025
Academic year
Pupil progress
Above-average progress

Pupils made above-average progress compared with similar pupils nationally. The confidence interval is entirely above zero, which is strong evidence of added value.

+0.56
Progress 8
[0.36, 0.77]
Confidence interval
Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Year 7 entry · Hackney council allocation figures, 2023–2026

Depends on band

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

Places are split into 4 bands and each had its own cut-off in 2026, so your chance depends on which band your child is placed in.

Why we say “Depends on band”

  1. Band A: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.3 km away (printed 0.799 miles).
  2. Band B: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.8 km away (printed 1.127 miles).
  3. Band C: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.1 km away (printed 0.663 miles).
  4. Band D: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.2 km away (printed 0.768 miles).
  5. 805 applications for 180 places in 2026 (4.5 per place).
What could change this
  • Your child’s band comes from the banding test the school or council runs. Ask the school when it takes place.
  • We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
  • Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
  • Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
  • Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Each band has its own cut-off, so there is no single ring to draw. The bars below show every band’s distance.

Last offer distance

Furthest child offered a place, by band, 2026.

Band A
1.3 kmprinted 0.799 miles
Band B
1.8 kmprinted 1.127 miles
Band C
1.1 kmprinted 0.663 miles
Band D
1.2 kmprinted 0.768 miles

Applications and places

Published admission number (PAN) against applications

4.5applications per place

805 applications for 180 places in 2026

180 offers made at national offer day, 2026

Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).

Pupils on roll

School census count against building capacity

1,149of 1,170 places

98% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.

In-year places: Year 7: not stated · Year 8: not stated · Year 9: not stated · Year 10: not stated · Year 11: not stated. As listed by the council on 14 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Sources — check them yourself

Every distance the council printed
YearRule or bandPrintedIn km
2026A · Distance0.799 miles1.3 km
2026B · Distance1.127 miles1.8 km
2026C · Distance0.663 miles1.1 km
2026D · Distance0.768 miles1.2 km
2025A · Distance1.122 miles1.8 km
2025B · Distance0.754 miles1.2 km
2025C · Distance0.792 miles1.3 km
2025D · Distance0.482 miles0.8 km
2024A · Distance1.195 miles1.9 km
2024B · Distance0.599 miles1.0 km
2024C · Distance0.431 miles0.7 km
2024D · Distance0.595 miles1.0 km
2023A · Distance0.666 miles1.1 km
2023B · Distance0.583 miles0.9 km
2023C · Distance0.495 miles0.8 km
2023D · Distance0.467 miles0.8 km

Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Applications and offers

National offer day figures that councils report to the Department for Education. These are counts only: they do not show how far away the last child offered a place lived.

Year 7 entry

Year of entryPlaces offeredPut it firstFirst choices offeredApplications (any preference)
September 2026173165129 (78%)779
September 2025170169131 (78%)759
September 2024184203136 (67%)947
September 2023177198115 (58%)979
September 2022194254144 (57%)1,118

Source: Department for Education: Primary and secondary school applications and offers, Academic year 2026/27, school-level data, published 18 June 2026. “–” means the figure was not published. The council’s own allocation figures are the official record: check Hackney’s admissions page for cut-off distances, the admission rules and this year’s dates.

Performance over time

Attainment 8 over time

Progress 8 over time(not available 2024/25)

University destinations

Share of this school's sixth-form leavers who went on to Oxford or Cambridge, a Russell Group university, or a university in the top third by entry grades. Department for Education data for state-funded schools and colleges.

Oxford or Cambridge
0.5%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 376 students
967th of 2,082 in England · 8th of 11 in Hackney
Russell Group
22.3%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 376 students
566th of 2,082 in England · 5th of 11 in Hackney
Top-third universities
26.1%
Average of 3 years (2019/20–2021/22 leavers), 277 students
737th of 2,063 in England · 7th of 11 in Hackney
Left sixth formStudentsOxford or CambridgeRussell GroupTop-third universities
2021/22
2024-2025 tables
96Not publishedNot published22%
England 19%
2020/21
2023-2024 tables
79Not publishedNot published30%
England 24%
2019/20
2022-2023 tables
1021%
England 1%
27%
England 18%
27%
England 20%
2018/19
2021-2022 tables
981%
England 1%
18%
England 15%
18%
England 17%
2017/18
2020-2021 tables
950%
England 1%
17%
England 16%
17%
England 18%
2015/16
2018-2019 tables
810%
England 1%
28%
England 14%
38%
England 19%
  • The DfE stopped publishing Oxbridge and Russell Group shares for individual schools after the 2022-23 performance tables (students who left in 2019/20). Top-third figures continue.
  • Figures are percentages of all students who finished 16 to 18 study at the school, counting those who sustained a university place in the two years after leaving.
  • Rankings use the average across years weighted by the number of students; a school needs at least 2 years and 50 students to be ranked. The top-third ranking uses the latest 3 years. Ranks are among state-funded schools and colleges.
  • '<0.5%' means above zero but under half a percent. 'Suppressed' means 5 or fewer students.
  • Source: Department for Education, 16 to 18 progression to higher education or training (Compare school and college performance, Explore education statistics).

Historical results

YearPupilsAtt8P85+ E&MEBacc %EBacc APS
2024/202518849.1—65.4%54.8%4.5
2023/202418453.1+0.5674.5%58.2%4.9
2022/202318952.3+0.3171.0%80.0%4.8
2021/202219352.8+0.0973.0%80.0%4.9

Nearby and similar schools

Other secondary schools in Hackney for local comparison.

Hackney hub
Mossbourne Community Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 65.1Progress 8 +1.47
Compare with The City Academy, Hackney
Mossbourne Victoria Park Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 64.3Progress 8 +1.54
Compare with The City Academy, Hackney
Clapton Girls' Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 59.4Progress 8 +0.84
Compare with The City Academy, Hackney

School information

URN135835
Local authorityHackney
RegionLondon
PhaseSecondary
TypeAcademy sponsor led
Gender of entryMixed
Age range11-19
HeadteacherPrincipal Anna Sarchet
TrustCITY OF LONDON ACADEMIES TRUST
AdmissionsNon-selective
Religious characterDoes not apply
PostcodeE9 6EA
Latest pupils188
FSM eligible55.9%

Contact and identifiers

Homerton Row, Hackney, London, E9 6EA

https://www.thecityacademyhackney.orgView local authority page2085255440
DfE number6908
UKPRN10027531
Opened1 Sept 2009
GIAS updated18 Nov 2025

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated18 Nov 2025
Latest KS4 year2024/2025
Latest KS2 year—
Ofsted published14 Jun 2023

Latest Ofsted inspection

Good
Quality of educationGood
Behaviour and attitudesGood
Personal developmentGood
Leadership and managementGood
SafeguardingEffective
Inspection typeS5 Inspection
Category of concern—
Inspection date28 Mar 2023
Publication date14 Jun 2023
View Ofsted report