Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hackney

The Excelsior Academy

Hackney·Secondary·London·Academy sponsor led·E8 2EY
URN: 131062GoodOfsted published 14 May 2024
44.7
Attainment 8
National avg ≈ 46.4 · 2024/2025
+0.46
Progress 8
2023/2024 · CI: [0.24, 0.67]
54.8%
5+ Eng & Maths
Grade 5+ in both · 2024/2025
86.4%
EBacc entry
% entering EBacc · 2024/2025
38.6
A level APS
Average points per entry · 2024/2025

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Around average academic outcomes

Attainment 8 of 44.7 is close to the national average of around 46.

44.7
Attainment 8
55%
5+ Eng & Maths
2024/2025
Academic year
Pupil progress
Above-average progress

Pupils made above-average progress compared with similar pupils nationally. The confidence interval is entirely above zero, which is strong evidence of added value.

+0.46
Progress 8
[0.24, 0.67]
Confidence interval
Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Year 7 entry · Hackney council allocation figures, 2023–2026

Depends on band

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

Places are split into 4 bands and each had its own cut-off in 2026, so your chance depends on which band your child is placed in.

Why we say “Depends on band”

  1. Band A: the furthest child offered a place lived 2.6 km away (printed 1.597 miles).
  2. Band B: the furthest child offered a place lived 2.9 km away (printed 1.824 miles).
  3. Band C: the furthest child offered a place lived 2.7 km away (printed 1.654 miles).
  4. Band D: the furthest child offered a place lived 2.7 km away (printed 1.654 miles).
  5. 267 applications for 180 places in 2026 (1.5 per place).
What could change this
  • Your child’s band comes from the banding test the school or council runs. Ask the school when it takes place.
  • We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
  • Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
  • Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
  • Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Each band has its own cut-off, so there is no single ring to draw. The bars below show every band’s distance.

Last offer distance

Furthest child offered a place, by band, 2026.

Band A
2.6 kmprinted 1.597 miles
Band B
2.9 kmprinted 1.824 miles
Band C
2.7 kmprinted 1.654 miles
Band D
2.7 kmprinted 1.654 miles

Applications and places

Published admission number (PAN) against applications

1.5applications per place

267 applications for 180 places in 2026

156 offers made at national offer day, 2026

Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).

Pupils on roll

School census count against building capacity

983of 1,080 places

91% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.

In-year places: Year 7: places available · Year 8: places available · Year 9: places available · Year 10: not stated · Year 11: not stated. As listed by the council on 14 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Sources — check them yourself

Every distance the council printed
YearRule or bandPrintedIn km
2026A · Distance1.597 miles2.6 km
2026B · Distance1.824 miles2.9 km
2026C · Distance1.654 miles2.7 km
2026D · Distance1.654 miles2.7 km
2025A · Distance1.547 miles2.5 km
2025B · Distance2.934 miles4.7 km
2025C · Distance3.972 miles6.4 km
2025D · Distance1.618 miles2.6 km
2024A · Distance2.574 miles4.1 km
2024B · Distance3.334 miles5.4 km
2024C · Distance2.802 miles4.5 km
2024D · Distance4.934 miles7.9 km
2023A · Distance1.649 miles2.7 km
2023B · Distance2.271 miles3.7 km
2023C · Distance5.216 miles8.4 km
2023D · Distance5.732 miles9.2 km

Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Applications and offers

National offer day figures that councils report to the Department for Education. These are counts only: they do not show how far away the last child offered a place lived.

Year 7 entry

Year of entryPlaces offeredPut it firstFirst choices offeredApplications (any preference)
September 20261397777 (100%)250
September 20251467070 (100%)310
September 20241486363 (100%)397
September 20231646262 (100%)422
September 20221898282 (100%)541

Source: Department for Education: Primary and secondary school applications and offers, Academic year 2026/27, school-level data, published 18 June 2026. “–” means the figure was not published. The council’s own allocation figures are the official record: check Hackney’s admissions page for cut-off distances, the admission rules and this year’s dates.

Performance over time

Attainment 8 over time

Progress 8 over time(not available 2024/25)

University destinations

Share of this school's sixth-form leavers who went on to Oxford or Cambridge, a Russell Group university, or a university in the top third by entry grades. Department for Education data for state-funded schools and colleges.

Oxford or Cambridge
0%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 332 students
1380th of 2,082 in England · 9th of 11 in Hackney
Russell Group
24.1%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 332 students
483rd of 2,082 in England · 4th of 11 in Hackney
Top-third universities
28.3%
Average of 3 years (2019/20–2021/22 leavers), 277 students
626th of 2,063 in England · 6th of 11 in Hackney
Left sixth formStudentsOxford or CambridgeRussell GroupTop-third universities
2021/22
2024-2025 tables
92Not publishedNot published24%
England 19%
2020/21
2023-2024 tables
103Not publishedNot published22%
England 24%
2019/20
2022-2023 tables
820%
England 1%
43%
England 18%
41%
England 20%
2018/19
2021-2022 tables
510%
England 1%
35%
England 15%
37%
England 17%
2017/18
2020-2021 tables
680%
England 1%
22%
England 16%
25%
England 18%
2015/16
2018-2019 tables
1310%
England 1%
9%
England 14%
15%
England 19%
  • The DfE stopped publishing Oxbridge and Russell Group shares for individual schools after the 2022-23 performance tables (students who left in 2019/20). Top-third figures continue.
  • Figures are percentages of all students who finished 16 to 18 study at the school, counting those who sustained a university place in the two years after leaving.
  • Rankings use the average across years weighted by the number of students; a school needs at least 2 years and 50 students to be ranked. The top-third ranking uses the latest 3 years. Ranks are among state-funded schools and colleges.
  • '<0.5%' means above zero but under half a percent. 'Suppressed' means 5 or fewer students.
  • Source: Department for Education, 16 to 18 progression to higher education or training (Compare school and college performance, Explore education statistics).

Historical results

YearPupilsAtt8P85+ E&MEBacc %EBacc APS
2024/202517744.7—54.8%86.4%4.1
2023/202417649.5+0.4664.8%30.1%4.3
2022/202317348.4+0.0565.0%76.0%4.4
2021/202217447.9-0.4264.0%68.0%4.3

Nearby and similar schools

Other secondary schools in Hackney for local comparison.

Hackney hub
Mossbourne Community Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 65.1Progress 8 +1.47
Compare with The Excelsior Academy
Mossbourne Victoria Park Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 64.3Progress 8 +1.54
Compare with The Excelsior Academy
Clapton Girls' Academy
Ofsted OutstandingAttainment 8 59.4Progress 8 +0.84
Compare with The Excelsior Academy

School information

URN131062
Local authorityHackney
RegionLondon
PhaseSecondary
TypeAcademy sponsor led
Gender of entryMixed
Age range11-18
HeadteacherPrincipal Omar Deria
TrustCOMMUNITY SCHOOLS TRUST
AdmissionsNon-selective
Religious characterDoes not apply
PostcodeE8 2EY
Latest pupils177
FSM eligible59.8%

Contact and identifiers

Shacklewell Lane, Hackney, London, E8 2EY

www.excelsiorcst.orgView local authority page2072751500
DfE number6906
UKPRN10016194
Opened1 Sept 2006
GIAS updated14 Mar 2026

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated14 Mar 2026
Latest KS4 year2024/2025
Latest KS2 year—
Ofsted published14 May 2024

Latest Ofsted inspection

Good
Quality of educationGood
Behaviour and attitudesGood
Personal developmentGood
Leadership and managementGood
SafeguardingEffective
Inspection typeS5 Inspection
Category of concern—
Inspection date6 Feb 2024
Publication date14 May 2024
View Ofsted report