Skip to main content
MySchoolHub
Back to schools

Hackney

The Urswick School - A Church of England Secondary School

Hackney·Secondary·London·Voluntary aided school·E9 6NR
URN: 100284GoodOfsted published 25 Jan 2024
CompareDfE profile
39.2
Attainment 8
National avg ≈ 46.4 · 2024/2025
-0.26
Progress 8
2023/2024 · CI: [-0.49, -0.03]
46.1%
5+ Eng & Maths
Grade 5+ in both · 2024/2025
68.1%
EBacc entry
% entering EBacc · 2024/2025
28.2
A level APS
Average points per entry · 2024/2025

Dependable results for a comprehensive intake; the journey is the main thing to weigh.

What the data says

Published data, read plainly. It tells you what to check next; it does not guarantee a place or replace your local authority’s admissions guidance.

Academic outcomes
Developing academic outcomes

Attainment 8 of 39.2 is below the national average of around 46. Compare with progress data, which may show a different picture.

39.2
Attainment 8
46%
5+ Eng & Maths
2024/2025
Academic year
Pupil progress
Below-average progress

Pupils made below-average progress compared with similar pupils nationally. The confidence interval is entirely below zero.

-0.26
Progress 8
[-0.49, -0.03]
Confidence interval
Getting a place
Admissions realism: not yet assessed

Admissions realism depends on your home postcode and the school's published allocation data. Enter your postcode on this page to get a more specific assessment, and always verify the latest policy on the school's official admissions page.

This school has a Church of England religious character. Admissions may prioritise pupils who meet faith criteria. A Supplementary Information Form (SIF) may be required.

Watch-outs

  • Faith admissions criteria apply (Church of England). A Supplementary Information Form may be required. Evidence of faith practice may be needed.

What to do next

Admissions and catchment

Year 7 entry · Hackney council allocation figures, 2023–2026

Depends on band

Add a postcode to see where you would sit against past cut-offs.

Places are split into 7 bands and each had its own cut-off in 2026, so your chance depends on which band your child is placed in.

Why we say “Depends on band”

  1. Foundation Band B: the furthest child offered a place lived 3.9 km away (printed 2.441 miles).
  2. Foundation Band C: the furthest child offered a place lived 2.3 km away (printed 1.433 miles).
  3. Foundation Band D: the furthest child offered a place lived 0.9 km away (printed 0.559 miles).
  4. Community Band A: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.9 km away (printed 1.161 miles).
  5. Community Band B: the furthest child offered a place lived 2.6 km away (printed 1.634 miles).
  6. Community Band C: the furthest child offered a place lived 1.3 km away (printed 0.822 miles).
  7. Community Band D: the furthest child offered a place lived 3.0 km away (printed 1.84 miles).
  8. 275 applications for 150 places in 2026 (1.8 per place).
What could change this
  • Your child’s band comes from the banding test the school or council runs. Ask the school when it takes place.
  • We measure a straight line from your postcode centre. The council measures from your home address, sometimes along walking routes, so treat anything near the line with care.
  • Cut-offs move every year with the number of applicants and siblings.
  • Children with an EHC plan, looked-after children and siblings are usually offered places before distance is used.
  • Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Each band has its own cut-off, so there is no single ring to draw. The bars below show every band’s distance.

Last offer distance

Furthest child offered a place, by band, 2026.

Foundation Band B
3.9 kmprinted 2.441 miles
Foundation Band C
2.3 kmprinted 1.433 miles
Foundation Band D
0.9 kmprinted 0.559 miles
Community Band A
1.9 kmprinted 1.161 miles
Community Band B
2.6 kmprinted 1.634 miles
Community Band C
1.3 kmprinted 0.822 miles
Community Band D
3.0 kmprinted 1.84 miles

Applications and places

Published admission number (PAN) against applications

1.8applications per place

275 applications for 150 places in 2026

101 offers made at national offer day, 2026

Councils count applications differently (all preferences or first preferences only).

Pupils on roll

School census count against building capacity

752of 1,050 places

72% full. Source: Get Information about Schools, 26 September 2026. A full school can still have places in the entry year.

In-year places: Year 7: places available · Year 8: places available · Year 9: not stated · Year 10: not stated · Year 11: not stated. As listed by the council on 14 September 2026 (source). Lists change daily; confirm with the council’s in-year admissions team.

Sources — check them yourself

Every distance the council printed
YearRule or bandPrintedIn km
2026Foundation Band B · Distance2.441 miles3.9 km
2026Foundation Band C · Distance1.433 miles2.3 km
2026Foundation Band D · Distance0.559 miles0.9 km
2026Community Band A · Distance1.161 miles1.9 km
2026Community Band B · Distance1.634 miles2.6 km
2026Community Band C · Distance0.822 miles1.3 km
2026Community Band D · Distance1.84 miles3.0 km
2025Foundation Band A · Distance3.643 miles5.9 km
2025Foundation Band B · Distance2.99 miles4.8 km
2025Foundation Band C · Distance1.886 miles3.0 km
2025Foundation Band D · Distance1.27 miles2.0 km
2025Community Band B · Distance1.63 miles2.6 km
2025Community Band C · Distance1.653 miles2.7 km
2024Foundation Band A · Distance0.995 miles1.6 km
2024Foundation Band B · Distance2.706 miles4.4 km
2024Foundation Band C · Distance3.959 miles6.4 km
2024Foundation Band D · Distance2.542 miles4.1 km
2024Community Band A · Distance1.412 miles2.3 km
2024Community Band C · Distance6.452 miles10.4 km
2023Foundation Band A · Distance4.725 miles7.6 km
2023Foundation Band B · Distance3.788 miles6.1 km
2023Foundation Band C · Distance1.069 miles1.7 km
2023Foundation Band D · Distance0.402 miles0.6 km
2023Community Band A · Distance1.122 miles1.8 km
2023Community Band B · Distance1.401 miles2.3 km
2023Community Band C · Distance1.868 miles3.0 km
2023Community Band D · Distance2.562 miles4.1 km

Figures collected from council publications on 27 September 2026 and shown as printed, converted to km. Years the council did not publish are left blank. Past allocations never guarantee a place.

Applications and offers

National offer day figures that councils report to the Department for Education. These are counts only: they do not show how far away the last child offered a place lived.

Year 7 entry

Year of entryPlaces offeredPut it firstFirst choices offeredApplications (any preference)
September 2026856767 (100%)256
September 2025745757 (100%)245
September 20241226868 (100%)287
September 20231409090 (100%)317
September 20221767978 (99%)330

Source: Department for Education: Primary and secondary school applications and offers, Academic year 2026/27, school-level data, published 18 June 2026. “–” means the figure was not published. The council’s own allocation figures are the official record: check Hackney’s admissions page for cut-off distances, the admission rules and this year’s dates.

Performance over time

Attainment 8 over time

Progress 8 over time(not available 2024/25)

University destinations

Share of this school's sixth-form leavers who went on to Oxford or Cambridge, a Russell Group university, or a university in the top third by entry grades. Department for Education data for state-funded schools and colleges.

Oxford or Cambridge
0%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 174 students
1380th of 2,082 in England · 9th of 11 in Hackney
Russell Group
14.3%
Average of 4 years (2015/16–2019/20 leavers), 174 students
1026th of 2,082 in England · 11th of 11 in Hackney
Top-third universities
17.9%
Average of 3 years (2019/20–2021/22 leavers), 147 students
1179th of 2,063 in England · 11th of 11 in Hackney
Left sixth formStudentsOxford or CambridgeRussell GroupTop-third universities
2021/22
2024-2025 tables
56Not publishedNot published11%
England 19%
2020/21
2023-2024 tables
46Not publishedNot published33%
England 24%
2019/20
2022-2023 tables
450%
England 1%
11%
England 18%
11%
England 20%
2018/19
2021-2022 tables
430%
England 1%
16%
England 15%
16%
England 17%
2017/18
2020-2021 tables
390%
England 1%
26%
England 16%
26%
England 18%
2015/16
2018-2019 tables
470%
England 1%
6%
England 14%
17%
England 19%
  • The DfE stopped publishing Oxbridge and Russell Group shares for individual schools after the 2022-23 performance tables (students who left in 2019/20). Top-third figures continue.
  • Figures are percentages of all students who finished 16 to 18 study at the school, counting those who sustained a university place in the two years after leaving.
  • Rankings use the average across years weighted by the number of students; a school needs at least 2 years and 50 students to be ranked. The top-third ranking uses the latest 3 years. Ranks are among state-funded schools and colleges.
  • '<0.5%' means above zero but under half a percent. 'Suppressed' means 5 or fewer students.
  • Source: Department for Education, 16 to 18 progression to higher education or training (Compare school and college performance, Explore education statistics).

Historical results

YearPupilsAtt8P85+ E&MEBacc %EBacc APS
2024/202514139.2—46.1%68.1%3.5
2023/202414739.3-0.2641.5%70.1%3.4
2022/202313944.3+0.0955.0%67.0%3.8
2021/202214641.5-0.7156.0%67.0%3.7

Nearby and similar schools

Other secondary schools in Hackney for local comparison.

Hackney hub

School information

URN100284
Local authorityHackney
RegionLondon
PhaseSecondary
TypeVoluntary aided school
Gender of entryMixed
Age range11-19
HeadteacherHeadteacher Oyedele Rotimi
Trust—
AdmissionsNon-selective
Religious characterChurch of England
PostcodeE9 6NR
Latest pupils141
FSM eligible69.8%

Contact and identifiers

Paragon Road, Hackney, London, E9 6NR

www.theurswickschool.co.uk2089852430
DfE number4697
UKPRN10015917
Opened—
GIAS updated26 Feb 2026

Data sources and freshness

Official record updated26 Feb 2026
Latest KS4 year2024/2025
Latest KS2 year—
Ofsted published25 Jan 2024

Latest Ofsted inspection

Good
Quality of educationGood
Behaviour and attitudesGood
Personal developmentGood
Leadership and managementGood
SafeguardingEffective
Inspection typeS5 Inspection
Category of concern—
Inspection date5 Dec 2023
Publication date25 Jan 2024
View Ofsted report